Our Finest Hour with the BBC Big Band

Look back in words and music at the momentous turning point of World War Two, and Britain’s finest hour, from the miracle of Dunkirk to the decisive victory of the Battle of Britain.

From Vera Lynn and Gracie Fields to the Andrews Sisters and Glenn Miller, the songs and music of the 1940s are as well-loved today as ever. With the famous speeches of Winston Churchill, and the best tunes of the time from the dance halls and wireless, join the BBC Big Band and stars of the West End for this unique celebration of Our Finest Hour.

Featuring We’ll Meet Again, The White Cliffs of Dover and A Nightingale Sang In Berkeley Square as well as some of the classic music the war inspired, including the Dam Busters March and the music from Ron Goodwin’s classic scores to Battle of Britain and 633 Squadron.



Tour Dates 2018

Presented by Kevin Whately

  • Friday 13 Apr Birmingham Symphony Hall 0121 780 3333 Past Date
  • Sunday 15 Apr Cardiff St David's Hall 029 2087 8444 Past Date
  • Tuesday 17 Apr LIVERPOOL Philharmonic Hall 0151 709 3789 Past Date
  • Wednesday 18 Apr EDINBURGH Usher Hall 0131 228 1155 Past Date
  • Friday 20 Apr GLASGOW Royal Concert Hall 0141 353 8000 Past Date
  • Monday 23 Apr SOUTHEND Cliffs Pavillion 01702 351135 Past Date
  • Thursday 3 May GATESHEAD Sage 0191 443 4661 Past Date
  • Friday 4 May MANCHESTER Bridgewater Hall 0161 907 9000 Past Date
  • Saturday 5 May LONDON Barbican Hall 020 7638 8891 Past Date
  • Saturday 22 Sep BASINGSTOKE The Anvil 01256 844 244 Book now
  • Sunday 23 Sep LEICESTER De Montfort Hall 0116 233 3111 Book Now
  • Thursday 27 Sep LEEDS Town Hall 0113 376 0318 Book Now
  • Friday 28 Sep NEWCASTLE City Hall 08448 11 21 21 Book now
  • Sunday 30 Sep IPSWICH Regent Theatre 01473 433 100 Book Now
  • Thursday 4 Oct POOLE Lighthouse 01202 280000 Book Now
  • Friday 5 Oct CAMBRIDGE Corn Exchange 01223 357851 Book Now